Available In:
Hard Copy
Safety and Security
    - Drug and Alcohol
Transit Personnel
    - Safety Staff
    - Transit Management

Substance Abuse Awareness Training, Testing, and Compliance (Technical Brief)

Anyone designated by the United States Department of Transportation (DOT) as a safety-sensitive employee is subject to DOT drug and alcohol testing. But what does “safety-sensitive” mean? The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) states that “Operators of revenue service vehicles, CDL-holding operators of nonrevenue service vehicles, vehicle controllers, revenue service vehicle mechanics, firearm-carrying security personnel” all qualify as safety-sensitive, while the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) mandates that anyone who holds a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) and operates a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) is a safety-sensitive employee.

The Substance Abuse Awareness Training, Testing, and Compliance National RTAP Technical Brief will provide guidance for employers who must train and test safety-sensitive employees for drug and alcohol use and misuse, and prepare employees for what to expect.

Citation: National RTAP. Substance Abuse Awareness Training, Testing, and Compliance Technical Brief. 2017. http://nationalrtap.org/Resource-Library/Advanced-Search/?fid=788

Permanent URL: http://nationalrtap.org/Resource-Library/Advanced-Search/fid=788